Child pages
  • Browser Settings for Duo’s “remember me” Option
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata


Remember Me

 You can set Duo to remember you for 15 days. This allows you to authenticate once, and then not have to do so again (on that computer/device) when logging into your account for 15 days. This option is a check box located under your authentication options on the Duo screen when logging in. If you check this option and still get prompted with the Duo screen on your next login, you may have to change your browser settings to allow it to properly save your choice.

What if I clicked “Remember me for 15 days” but I am still being asked to authenticate?

 This setting must be applied to each browser you use on each computer you use. If you choose this setting, but log in later with a different browser you will have to set it again for that browser during authentication. If you are certain you chose it to remember you on both the computer and the browser you are using, then it might be a setting on the browser that is not saving your choice.

Browser Settings

Chrome

  1. While in Chrome click on the 3 vertical dots in the top-right corner of the browser (More Options Icon.png) and choose “Settings” in the drop down menu.

  2. Scroll to the bottom of the settings page and click “Advanced.” This will add more options to the bottom of the page.

  3. The next section is “Privacy and security.” Scroll through that section until you find “Content settings” (it may be the next-to-last option) and click on it.

  4. From here you will click in “Cookies” (it should be the first option) and make sure the option to “Keep local data only until you quit your browser” is turned OFF.

  5. Changes you make here are immediate, so there is no option to save. You can close the settings tab/window whenever you are finished.

Firefox

  1. While in Firefox click on the 3 horizontal lines in the top-right corner of the browser (Firefox More Icon.png) and choose “Preferences” in the drop down menu.

  2. On the left-hand side, choose the “Privacy” option.

  3. In the “History” section make sure the “Accept cookies from sites” option is checked and the “Keep until” option below is set to “they expire.”

  4. Changes you make here are immediate, so there is no option to save. You can close the preferences tab/window whenever you are finished.

Safari

  1. With Safari open and active, click on “Safari” at the top-left of your computer screen (next to the Apple symbol on your top taskbar) and choose “Preferences” from the drop down menu.

  2. Choose the “Privacy” option across the top of the window that appears.

  3. Under “Cookies and website data” make sure the “Allow for websites I visit” option is selected. Safari should save all website data unless you specifically remove it in Preferences.

  4. Changes you make here are immediate, so there is no save option. You can close the Preferences window whenever you are finished.

  • No labels