Have you gotten a new smartphone, but kept your original number?  Did you have to reset your phone?  Or did you accidentally delete the Duo Mobile App?  If any of these apply to you, don’t worry!  You can easily reactivate your Duo Mobile app, even if it was the only device you had registered.

  1. From a computer, use a private or incognito window, or a different web browser (one that you do not typically use) to access your Swarthmore account email.

  2. Navigate to gmail.swarthmore.edu.

  3. Log in using your Swarthmore username and password.

  4. STOP on the Duo authentication screen.

    1. If your account is set to automatically call or send a push, click Cancel in the bottom-right of the authentication window.
  5. Go to the My Settings & Devices link on the left-hand side of the authentication window

    1. If your account is set to automatically call or send a push, you may need to click Cancel in the bottom-right of the authentication window.
  6. Choose the Call me option to authenticate - since your phone number has not changed, Duo can call your device.
  7. Once you authenticate you will be brought to a list of your current devices.
  8. Click the Device Options button next to the device that needs the Duo app reactivated.

  9. Click the Reactivate Duo Mobile button.
  10. You will be walked through the same questions about your device as when you originally registered that number with Duo Mobile.

    1. If your phone type or operating system has changed, choose the correct options for your new phone.

  11. You will be prompted to download the free Duo Mobile App. Once that is downloaded and open, click to Continue.
    1. If already installed, select I have Duo Mobile installed then click Continue.

  12. In the Duo app on your phone, click the plus sign (+) to add a new service and then use the app to take a picture of the QR code that appears on your computer screen.

    1. You may have to allow Duo to use your phone's camera in order to scan the QR code.

  13. After you scan the QR code, you will see a green checkmark, click Continue.
  14. You are all set! At the bottom of your device options page, you can click the Back to Login button and continue to login to your account as usual.




  • No labels