Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Once the Crashplan software is installed on your computer, you will see the Crashplan icon and status indicators in your Windows task bar and if you're on an Apple computer, the top right menu bar.

You do not need to do anything to maintain the software or initiate the backup process. However, you may wish to recover files (or previous versions of files) or check the status of your computer's backup.

Which files are backing up?

For more details with the corresponding letters in the image(s) below please see the following link:

https://support.code42.com/CrashPlan/6/Code42_app_reference/Code42_app_reference#Details

Code42 app: Click Manage Files.

Manage Files - Files selected for backup


Crashplan is configured to back up files in your Users folders, including your Desktop, Documents, and Downloads folder and other subfolders. In addition, Crashplan will back up the user folder of any individual that logs into your PC.

How do I recover a file or folder?

  1. Launch the Crashplan Application:

    The Crashplan application may take a few minutes to open, so please be patient.

    Within the Crashplan application:

    • Click Restore Files to browse, search, and download files backed up for a device.
      Home screen
    • Additional options: 
      • Include deleted files 

        Displays or hides deleted files. When enabled, downloaded folders include any deleted files in that folder.

      • Show hidden files Displays or hides hidden temporary and system files. Hidden files are always included in downloaded folders, regardless of whether the setting to view them is enabled.

  2. Restore files options:
    • To open options for downloading selected files, click Restore Files from the Restore Files view
    Restore Files Options

    Item Description
    a Save selected files to
    Sets the download location for the selected files.

    By default, set to your device's Downloads folder.
    Includes options for the following locations: Downloads folder, Desktop, Original Location, Other (for selecting a custom location).
    b If file already exists
    Specifies whether you want existing files (files that are on your device right now) renamed or overwritten when a file matching the file name downloads to the same location.

    By default, set to rename existing files.
    If set to rename existing files, the Code42 app adds the prefix "original1" to the existing files.
    c Permissions
    Specifies ownership of restored files. By default, it is set to Current.

    Two settings are available:

    Current: (Recommended) When the file is restored, its ownership is changed to match the ownership of the folder where the restored file is saved.
    Original: When the file is restored, it keeps the original ownership that was in place when the file was backed up.
    d Cancel Exits the options view and returns to the file browser.
    e Go Adds selected files to Downloads using the selected settings. If settings were modified, your changes are maintained until you exit the Restore Files view (version 6.8.3 or later) or Get Files view (version 6.8.2 or earlier) or you close the Code42 app.

    • From the upper-right corner of the Code42 app, click Downloads to open Download Activity.
  3. Where the file is restored:

    Crashplan will restore files to the same location they were backed up from, or you can choose to restore to another folder by clicking the blue text under ‘Restore’. If another version of the file already exists in that location, the restored file will be named original1.filename.

    Once you are satisfied with these options, click Restore.

What's the status of my backup?

Roll your mouse over the Crashplan application icon from the task bar. The status bar should tell you when your next backup will run.

Detailed status: Open the Code42 app and click Details. The Details view includes information about the number of files already backed up, the number left to do, and the next time backup will run.




  • No labels