Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Managing Devices and Settings

With multiple devices registered to Duo for you to use for authentication, you will need a way to manage them. Below are directions on how to get into the device management area for Duo.

  1. Open an incognito or private browser window and navigate to gmail.swarthmore.edu
  2. Enter your username and password in the Swarthmore login page
  3. You will be redirected to the Duo authentication page - do NOT choose an authentication method
    1. If you have your account currently set to automatically call you or send you a push, you can click "Cancel" in the bottom-right of the authentication window
  4. Instead, choose the "My Settings & Devices" link on the left-hand side of the authentication window 
    1. If you want to quickly add devices, choose "Add a new device".
  5. You will be prompted to choose a method to authenticate, as Duo wants to make sure you are who you say you are and have the right to make changes to your devices
  6. Once you finish that authentication process you will be brought to a list of your current devices

Here you can delete devices you no longer have or wish to use, as well as rename devices to make sure they easier for you to find in your device list. You will also get the option to add new devices here if you find that a device option is missing from your list. 

Directly below your list of devices is the section you will use to set your defaults. Here you will choose which device you want to be your default device (the one you are most likely to use on a daily basis) and also what you want Duo to do with that device. You will be given a few options for device actions: 

  • Automatically call me
  • Automatically send a push
  • Ask me to choose an authentication method

It is recommended that you have your Duo account set to "Ask me to choose an authentication method." This will make it easier to choose an alternative method of authentication when logging in if you happen to not have access to your default device. If you already have one of the automatic options chosen and you want to choose another authentication method or stop the authentication process to access your Settings, there will be a blue bar across the bottom with the option to cancel the current automatically sent authentication request. Once you cancel the request you can access all of your options.

If you try to click the button to save the changes you've made to your devices at the bottom of your "My Settings & Devices" window and it says "Saved" and you see a circle with a slash through it appear by your curser, that means all of your changes have already been saved for you. If you are finished making changes you can click "Back to Login" and continue through the authentication process.





  • No labels